Opinion

RSL thanks

Sir,. I would like an opportunity to thank the patrons of the Deniliquin RSL Club for their generosity.. Last year I had the opportunity of placing a Ronald McDonald House charity money box in our club. Ronald McDonald House were happy to do so

by
Contributor
May 20 2018
Opinion

Devil in detail of bi-partisan agreement

Sir,. In response to the widely expressed relief at Labor’s bi-partisan support against the amendments to the water recovery target, as always the devil is in the detail!. Although it is pleasing to see some level of sanity return towards

by
Contributor
May 20 2018
Opinion

Get Basin Plan facts straight

Sir,. I write to respond to the Letter to the Editor asking if Southern Riverina Irrigators ‘‘fully understands’’ the implications of the agreement reached between the government and the Labor Party to progress the Basin Plan

by
Contributor
May 20 2018
Opinion

Abundance through love for Jesus Christ

‘‘...The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows)...’’ - John 10:10 (AMP).. Through Jesus coming and giving

by
Contributor
May 08 2018
Opinion

Town Hall project...

It is an exciting time to live in the Edward River region, and particularly Deniliquin.. An already significant investment in community infrastructure costing millions of dollars is underway, and more than $3 million worth could soon follow.. Edward

by
Deniliquin Pa...
May 08 2018
Opinion

Unity is paramount for...

Can the importance of unity be emphasised too greatly? We think not.. Regardless of which organisation or team in which you are involved, it cannot reach its potential without a united approach.. In the federal sphere we have a government which

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Apr 11 2018
Opinion

People power can help...

Sir,. This Friday there is a very important forum being conducted in our region that I would encourage farmers, business operators and community members interested in our future to attend. It has been organised by the Speak Up Campaign and is titled

by
Contributor
Apr 10 2018
News

MIL reports should be made public

The following is an open letter to Murray Irrigation Ltd shareholders sent to the Pastoral Times from former MIL board member Mark Robertson of Finley.. Sir,. The company has in the past year been subject of adverse commentary and has commissioned

by
Contributor
Apr 07 2018
Opinion

There’s danger in failing to address consequences

Many decisions can have unintended consequences, and so can making no attempt to fix them.. Ignoring them is not the answer, but that’s exactly what the NSW Government is doing when it comes to the container deposit scheme.. The NSW Government

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Apr 05 2018
Opinion

Jesus absorbs our sinfulness

“Do you realise what I have done for you?” John 13:12.. I remember one of my experiences when I was young.. One afternoon, I went to a sewing machine repair shop just to have a visit and see what the repairman was doing.. I didn’t

by
Contributor
Mar 27 2018
Opinion

Life-saving emergency...

Sir,. We would like to express our thanks to the staff at Deniliquin Hospital’s emergency department, who got straight in to action when Bev needed it last week.. After being flown to the Alfred Hospital in Melbourne, the specialist said the

by
Contributor
Mar 25 2018
Opinion

Heading in right...

Sir,. I was pleased to read that a recent leadership information workshop in Deniliquin had unearthed a talent bank of potential candidates who may seek election to the board of Murray Irrigation.. Having spent five years on the board with over two

by
Contributor
Mar 25 2018
Opinion

The fifth word

‘‘I thirst.’’ (John 19;28).. When I was sent to a Christmas mission in one of the Middle Eastern countries, I met a girl working in a publishing company.. She invited me to have a dinner together with some friends.. In our

by
Contributor
Mar 20 2018
Opinion

Celebrate the volunteers who help region thrive

Australia Day can mean a lot of different things to many different people.. For some, Australia Day is a day of reflection.. For others it’s another chance to get together with friends and enjoy the quintessential Aussie summer and

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Jan 24 2018
Opinion

Come and follow me!

Jesus offered this invitation to many people during the time of His earthly life and continues to offer the same invitation to us today.. As I grow older, or should that be wiser, I have come to realise that Jesus is both calling people to follow

by
Contributor
Jan 23 2018
Opinion

Light up bigger kangaroo signs

Sir,. Thank you to the Pastoral Times team for driving the issues of community concern, the latest one being road safety and kangaroos.. Regardless of the call for a kangaroo cull or not, there are always going to be roos in the area of their

by
Contributor
Jan 16 2018
Opinion

Every person is His...

Sometimes it is easy to be critical of a person, persons or a situation, especially when we don’t know the person/s or are fully aware of the facts.. We need to be careful when offering our thoughts, given directly to the person or via the

by
Contributor
Jan 16 2018
Opinion

Funding reserves...

With Edward River Council’s increased focus on infrastructure upgrades — with both a community and tourism benefit — it beggars belief the Deniliquin Waring Gardens’ peacock aviary investment requirements were not considered

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Jan 16 2018
Opinion

Kangaroo cull...

Kangaroo numbers in the local area are rising at a rapid rate and putting our community members and visitors at risk.. Last week, a rogue kangaroo caused a Geelong man to crash, roll and watch his car explode in flames near Mathoura.. It is only by

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Jan 11 2018
Load more
Login Sign Up

Dummy text