Opinion

Initiatives to protect local youth must be applauded

Deniliquin is to the forefront in protecting our young people, and the community’s efforts should be recognised and applauded.. Last week the local high school’s Year 10 students participated in the annual Driver Education Program, which

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Nov 28 2017
Opinion

Poppies put on hold

Sir,. As many members of the Deniliquin community would be aware, there was no sale of Remembrance Day poppies this year to raise funds for the welfare of ex-servicemen and women.. Instead members of the local sub-branch handed out poppies.. Earlier

by
Contributor
Nov 26 2017
Opinion

Officer removal further damages confidence

It’s hard to keep faith that local concerns are being heard in the Murray-Darling Basin Plan decision making process.. It’s even harder now this community’s direct connection to the decision makers has been taken out of the NSW

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Nov 15 2017
Opinion

Don’t be afraid, look to the Lord

“Jesus got into a boat and his disciples followed him. Suddenly a violent storm came up on the sea, so that the boat was being swamped by waves; but he was asleep. They came and woke him saying ‘Lord, save us! We are perishing!&rsquo

by
Contributor
Nov 14 2017
Opinion

Build your foundations...

‘‘Jesus departed to the mountain to pray, and he spent the night in prayer to God. When day came, he called his disciples to himself ...’’. There was a saying that, ‘if you want to build high, first, dig deep’.. I

by
Contributor
Nov 08 2017
Opinion

We cannot continue...

Deniliquin and district’s heath system is in crisis.. Our doctors are physically unable to see any more patients, and our nurses are working double shifts to ensure the hospital is staffed.. Something needs to be done, and soon. Our wellbeing

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Nov 08 2017
Opinion

Resignation in best...

Sir,. Most of your readers would be aware the Murray Irrigation Ltd Board has resolved that all current directors will resign taking effect at the end of the AGM on November 28.. This decision was not made lightly but was made in the best interest

by
Contributor
Nov 07 2017
Opinion

God’s handiwork

Being Halloween, October 31 is often associated with pumpkins, dressing up in goulash costumes and knocking on the doors in your neighbourhood asking for lollies.. But there was a particular door that was knocked on 500 years ago that had a far

by
Contributor
Nov 02 2017
Opinion

Make election null and void

Sir,. As a scrutineer at the recent Murray Irrigation Ltd director elections I would like to expand on the coverage of this issue in the Pastoral Times on Friday October 27.. Firstly, as a MIL shareholder and local food producer I am extremely

by
Contributor
Nov 02 2017
Opinion

Final pieces in jigsaw

The importance of appropriate infrastructure for a community’s prosperity has been well documented. It provides the foundations on which growth can be built.. Infrastructure improvements that are currently under construction in Deniliquin, as

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Nov 02 2017
Opinion

We must move on from...

Sir,. Unsurprisingly, the result of the MIL election, and its announcement, generated quite a bit of discussion in your paper last week.. As one of the candidates can I take this opportunity to make a couple of observations.. There was an

by
Contributor
Nov 02 2017
Opinion

We want answers,...

Why Deniliquin Holden?. That’s the question we’re all asking after revelations last week the historic local business would be closed due to a rationalisation of Holden dealerships across Australia.. Deniliquin Holden’s owners

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Oct 24 2017
Opinion

Dump Marriage Act,...

Sir,. I have a different perspective to your correspondent, Hayley Purbrick, on the survey on marital law (Letter to Editor, PT, Sept. 29).. That includes me presuming zero interest by (or relevance to) PT’s readers on whether I’ll

by
Contributor
Oct 14 2017
Opinion

Thanks to Bundy Bar helpers

Sir,. I want to thank our club supporters from Deniliquin Rams Football and Netball Club who volunteered to work at the Bundy Bar for the Ute Muster.. My personal thanks to Dale and Don Panton, Tracie Dashwood, Jacqui Delmenico and Michael Bennett

by
Contributor
Oct 14 2017
Opinion

What can we do about local plastic bag problem?

Sir,. I am writing to you to express a concern I have about plastic bags.. Over recent years I have been hearing news items on how plastic rubbish is finding its way into the oceans of the world, and is causing problems with marine life.. This has

by
Contributor
Oct 14 2017
Opinion

No more broken promises, poor government policy

Sir,. Since being endorsed as the Shooters Fishers and Farmers Party candidate for the Murray by-election I have travelled extensively throughout the vast electorate, talking to people in its many communities.. I have spent a lot of time in

by
Contributor
Oct 13 2017
Opinion

Make Murray marginal...

Sir,. Making Murray a marginal seat is the only way to get our issues heard.. Our communities are not valued, politicians of all persuasions take us for granted and political outcomes in other regions are more important.. For the last six years I

by
Contributor
Oct 13 2017
Opinion

MIL board member backs...

Sir,. I am one of the existing seven directors on the board of Murray Irrigation and am not actually up for re-election this cycle.. There is presently a letter being circulated purportedly from the board specifically endorsing some board members

by
Contributor
Oct 13 2017
Opinion

The good life

When we read verses in the Bible, such as 2 Tim 3:16, “All Scripture is God breathed”, we are reminded of the importance of listening to what it says.. Those words are God’s words.. They are God’s words to humanity about how

by
Contributor
Oct 11 2017
Load more
Login Sign Up

Dummy text