News

Deniliquin welcomes multicultural council

Sir,. I wish to sincerely thank Intereach for hosting the Murray Darling Multicultural Regional Advisory Council meeting last Thursday.. This meeting was a first for the Regional Council to meet outside of metropolitan centres and also a first for

by
Contributor
May 31 2017
Opinion

Return camp to local ‘ownership’

Sir,. I refer to the Pastoral Times front page article headed ‘Post buy-out’ in relation to the Deniliquin Lions Club (Friday, May 12) seeking Stronger Communities Fund cash to revive the Four Post Recreation Park.. I have been a supporter of

by
Contributor
May 21 2017
Opinion

Support voters, timber harvesting

Sir,. Thank you for your continuing support for the restoration of our timber industry.. Your editorial in Tuesday’s Pastoral Times was spot on.. We had a viable, stable industry until the power-hungry desperadoes, otherwise known as the NSW Labor

by
Contributor
Apr 03 2017
Opinion

Time to tidy up empty shops

Sir,. Please allow me space in your paper to ask why some of the vacant shops in the CBD are in such a state of disrepair.. Recently while shopping I couldn’t help but notice some of the empty shops are dirty, covered in cobwebs and even some with

by
Contributor
Mar 28 2017
Opinion

All for South...

Sir,. Why is our Federal Government prepared to willingly sacrifice the livelihood and economies of the Goulburn, Murray and Murrumbidgee valleys — all for South Australian votes?. What sort of people do we have in the halls of power who allow

by
Contributor
Feb 27 2017
Opinion

Consultation...

Sir,. To Russell Douglas (“Fight for our communities” PT 17/2/17) and Knox Durrant (Letters, PT 14/2/17) thank you for sharing your frustrations in dealing with our governments whether in the form of elected representatives of the people or our

by
Contributor
Feb 25 2017
Opinion

Turnbull must visit to...

Sir,. It’s heartening to read recent articles about the rural prosperity of our nation and the way agriculture is driving growth in many regional towns and communities.. However, it should be recognised that there is a ‘two speed’ economy

by
Contributor
Jan 06 2017
Opinion

Long-held concerns to be formalised in local study

For more than seven years the Pastoral Times has been reporting on the concerns associated with the Murray-Darling Basin Plan.. It started when the Basin Plan was just one ambiguous part of a larger Water for the Future reform process being pursued

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Jan 04 2017
Opinion

Partnership to benefit environment, economy

Local productive water stakeholder groups having been saying it for a long time, and today’s front page story suggests we’re starting to see some headway.. There are opportunities for win:win partnerships between the ever-important local

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Dec 27 2016
Opinion

Beware false idols

Do you make ‘New Year’s Resolutions’?. If you do they possibly reflect what you value the most and what gives you meaning and significance in life.. Maybe it is to have a better relationship with your boyfriend, girlfriend, spouse, father

by
Contributor
Dec 27 2016
Opinion

Sussan’s Christmas...

As 2016 draws to a close, I would like to offer my best wishes for this festive season and the year ahead.. During the coming 12 months regional development will remain a key focus for our government, with the $297m Building Better Regions Fund

by
Contributor
Dec 24 2016
Opinion

Reflecting on a year...

At Christmas we traditionally look back on the year that is almost past and spend a moment in reflection and appreciation.. In the Deniliquin district when we reflect on 2016 it will be remembering a year of challenge and change.. But that is

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Dec 22 2016
Opinion

First Xmas wasn’t...

Most of us hope Christmas will be a joyous time catching up with family and friends, with not too much tension and awkward moments.. But few of us could match the drama of the very first Christmas.. In the Bible, Matthew and Luke are honest about

by
Contributor
Dec 13 2016
Opinion

Road upgrades are in the works

Sir,. I write in response to Paul King’s letter published in the Friday, November 25 edition of the Deniliquin Pastoral Times.. In his letter, Mr King expressed concerns regarding the condition of local roads and drainage infrastructure.. I am

by
Contributor
Dec 07 2016
Opinion

Separating Xmas truth from myth

As we look forward to celebrating Christmas, how do we separate truth from myth?. Over December we will go back and look at why the Bible tells us there is more to Christmas than Santa Claus, reindeers, gifts and over-stuffed turkeys and tummies!

by
Contributor
Dec 06 2016
Opinion

A frightening start to high load fire season

It was a scary start to the fire season at the weekend, with five separate fires across the district.. More frightening is the belief some may have been deliberately lit.. Two separate grassfires reported in west Deniliquin early Saturday morning

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Dec 06 2016
Opinion

Boycott SA call causes...

Sir,. Your article in Tuesday’s edition (Boycott South Australia) gave me cause for concern.. In it, Mrs Scoullar implores the eastern states to “fight back”, “save jobs” and “boycott South Australia”. I have to wonder what she thinks

by
Contributor
Dec 02 2016
Opinion

Renal unit shows what...

The next step in Deniliquin’s long battle for a renal dialysis unit was taken last week.. In a community update provided by Murrumbidgee Local Health District, plans for the unit were outlined.. Although it will not be built until early next year

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Dec 01 2016
Opinion

Those most affected by...

Sir,. “MDBA fails rural communities: those most affected are the source of the solution’’.. The Murray-Darling Basin Authority (MDBA) was established through Commonwealth legislation - the Water Act 2007.. Is this the worst example of public

by
Contributor
Nov 30 2016
Load more
Login Sign Up

Dummy text