Opinion

What can we do about local plastic bag problem?

Sir,. I am writing to you to express a concern I have about plastic bags.. Over recent years I have been hearing news items on how plastic rubbish is finding its way into the oceans of the world, and is causing problems with marine life.. This has

by
Contributor
Oct 14 2017
Opinion

No more broken promises, poor government policy

Sir,. Since being endorsed as the Shooters Fishers and Farmers Party candidate for the Murray by-election I have travelled extensively throughout the vast electorate, talking to people in its many communities.. I have spent a lot of time in

by
Contributor
Oct 13 2017
Opinion

Make Murray marginal for the region’s sake

Sir,. Making Murray a marginal seat is the only way to get our issues heard.. Our communities are not valued, politicians of all persuasions take us for granted and political outcomes in other regions are more important.. For the last six years I

by
Contributor
Oct 13 2017
Opinion

MIL board member backs Sides

Sir,. I am one of the existing seven directors on the board of Murray Irrigation and am not actually up for re-election this cycle.. There is presently a letter being circulated purportedly from the board specifically endorsing some board members

by
Contributor
Oct 13 2017
Opinion

The good life

When we read verses in the Bible, such as 2 Tim 3:16, “All Scripture is God breathed”, we are reminded of the importance of listening to what it says.. Those words are God’s words.. They are God’s words to humanity about how

by
Contributor
Oct 11 2017
News

Nationals’ efforts...

Credit where credit’s due.. Three weeks ago, in our Opinion, we endorsed a Shooters, Fishers and Farmers’ Party win in the Murray by-election on October 14 as the ‘‘best result for our region’s future’’.. We

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Oct 10 2017
News

What message does...

Sir,. It is not often I feel so compelled to write in reply to an opinion but I cannot sit back and say nothing after reading John Fowler’s letter to the editor in the PT (Friday, Sept. 22).. How many people understand the evolution of

by
Contributor
Oct 01 2017
News

Cemetery help appreciation

Sir,. On behalf of the Friends of the Cemetery, I would like to thank all who came out on Sunday to the working bee at the general cemetery. A great job done by all.. Thank you to Damien Rhook who organised the day, the Salvation Army for the

by
Contributor
Sep 30 2017
News

Historical thanks

Sir,. As president of the Deniliquin & District Historical Society, I would like to publicly thank the Deniliquin residents who have so generously donated to our society.. A small and enthusiastic core of volunteers manage the Historical

by
Contributor
Sep 30 2017
News

Let’s make Murray marginal

Sir,. I am responding to the letter published in your paper ‘What has Shooters Party done?’ (Friday, September 22).. In his letter, former Member for Murry Adrian Piccoli criticised your opinion piece that said the best option our region

by
Contributor
Sep 30 2017
News

Happy to debate Deni...

Sir,. The letter from Paul Fellows (PT Sept. 5, 2017) only proved that he doesn’t know me.. For his information I’m 58 years old. If that makes me in my ‘‘autumn years’’ (i.e. about to drop off the twig) then he

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Sep 28 2017
News

Who will be our Muster...

The time has come again for Deniliquin’s population to treble, with all roads leading to the world famous World Record Deniliquin Ute Muster.. A predicted 18,000 people, and possibly more, will revel in what is being dubbed the ‘party on

by
Deniliquin Pa...
Sep 26 2017
Opinion

Administrator’s...

Sir,. With my tenure as Administrator of Edward River Council officially ending last night prior to the post-election Council meeting, I want to take this opportunity to thank the Edward River community for its support over the past 16 months.. When

by
Contributor
Sep 25 2017
Opinion

Legacy offers heartfelt thanks

Sir,. On behalf of the Deniliquin Legacy Group and the 110 widows of veterans as well as the families of veterans who have given their health in service to their country, to whom we provide friendship and support where needed, we wish to express our

by
Contributor
Sep 23 2017
Opinion

What has Shooters Party done?

Sir,. Your newspaper editorial last week was wrong to endorse the Shooters Party at the upcoming by-election and here is why.. Your editorial for some reason ignored most of the very big wins Deni and surrounding towns have had in the last few years

by
Contributor
Sep 23 2017
Opinion

Why it’s OK to vote ‘No’

Sir,. I’ll be voting ‘No’ in the same sex marriage plebiscite primarily because the main issue, as I see it, is about the rights of children rather than adults.. While the ideal of marriage is not always maintained, at its heart

by
Contributor
Sep 23 2017
Opinion

By-election presents...

Having a serious ‘other’ option to consider in the Murray electorate by-election on October 14 presents the region with an opportunity not seen in a decade.. In 2007 — back when our local electorate was ‘Murray-Darling&rsquo

by
Sam Hall
Sep 19 2017
News

Big thank you to local...

Sir,. On behalf of the Council Council of NSW I would like to personally thank the members of our community who purchased daffodils and merchandise on Daffodil Day 2017.. The total sum raised was $12,010.65 and these funds will go into helping

by
Contributor
Sep 18 2017
Opinion

Important ‘stay...

Sir,. I recently attended a community seminar (fairly poorly patronised) which was organised by the All Stars Martial Arts Academy.. I do think parents need to make certain that as their children gain their independence with a driver’s licence

by
Contributor
Sep 17 2017
Load more
Login Sign Up

Dummy text